Heart Wants What It Wants / Poetry

Adrift

There were butterflies everyday

in our little meadow

up the mountains.

I have not set foot in the city for months

But it was you who restrained me

from seeing the lanterns fly.

Though we both know –

it’s the place where i should’ve been.

 

I loved our little cabin

But it was not all that I wanted.

I lost myself and found myself

And lost it again

When I’m around you.

 

But you should know,

When I started to embrace my skin

I have got nothing left to give.

Maybe nothing left to give to you.

 

I know I loved you

Or perhaps I have.

But what should I do

With the man who’d rather

See one glorious side of the planet

Than to embrace the world itself?

Leave a Reply

